Therapy Quotes to Make You Think

One of my craft projects for this upcoming school year is to put quotes in picture frames in my office, kind of like this:

I haven’t decided yet if I am going to do them all myself or let the kiddos pick a frame, paint it,and pick a quote to go in it…might take longer than I want that way…but I am seeing them this summer, so guess we will see!

There is an activity I have done before, similar to this, but with mottos. You have the client look at different mottos and then come up with their own life motto. I am hoping to use these therapy quotes the same way. I also have a few different ideas such as picking one to try to live by for a week, writing prompts for journal entries, and picking one they think describes their life and then processing this with them. What ideas do you have?? These would also be great quotes to make them think or just start a conversation! The “therapy quotes” I have picked range from spiritual quotes, character quotes, motivational quotes, friendship quotes, and even a few relationship quotes. Let me know if you have any that would be good to add!!

Here is my collection so far:

Great Group Activity on Fairness: http://saylorslog.blogspot.com/2011/08/differentiation.html

WHICH ONE WAS YOUR FAV??

PS Here is a great collection of quotes more for therapists than clients…but I found a few that could be both or at least can help explain therapy to a client, such as:

“It’s not too difficult to get the skeletons out of the closet with people, but to get the gold out is a different matter. That is therapy. Psychology is the Art of finding the gold of the spirit.”
-Robert Johnson

and

“It is not our task to solve another’s problems, or take away another’s pain. All lessons of life are necessary and produce growth-and therefore joy.”
-Letters from the Cosmos

and

“To seek truth is not the way to paradise, it is the way to reality, to life with all of its complications and problems, turmoil and chaos, and its raging emotions…the way to growing wisdom that will enable us to fulfill our mission.”
-Letters from the Cosmos

and last one because I could keep going…

“The therapist’s job is not to be an exterminator to take things away. The job is to give the problem back to the client in a way that shows how much they need it, show its value.”
-Thomas Moore

2 thoughts on “Therapy Quotes to Make You Think

What did you think?

