Feelings Homework

IMG_3188

If you have been following my blog for awhile, then you may remember that I have a (newer) little one at home (painting above). While diving into the dangerous world of Pintrest for ideas for an Easter party I am hosting I can across allllll sorts of ideas for learning, fun, and play activities I can do with him…and like 2 hours worth of looking later, I haven’t done ANY of it- haha! But, I did decide on the Easter activities AND I ran across TWO ideas I am going to incorporate into my therapy toolbox! See the other on attachment HERE!

The first idea came from 1+1+1=1 Blog. I was looking at their Tot-Packs and ran across a feelings one. I don’t know about you, but sometimes I find it rather difficult to get parents to remember AND do the homework (I call it “You-Work”) I assigned for the week. Additionally, I feel like sometimes I have a hard time coming up with new, creative, or engaging ways (besides I feel sentences and feeling faces) to get families to practice feelings at home.Tot-packs to the rescue!

In the tot-packs they use a folder to put together different ways to practice feelings…although they use this to teach things like matching, coloring, and letter identification, I feel like it is easily modified for therapy and could be “pre-made” to give to clients to practice or do at home.I hope to get around to do this really soon…maybe a job for my intern? If YOU have any fun homework you give clients to practice feelings please share 🙂

Anywho, HERE is the link to the FREE PRINTABLES for the feeling pack.

One of the first things I do with new clients (of any age) is assess their emotional vocabulary and IQ. Emotional Vocabulary is the range of feeling words that they know and use to describe their feelings (do they just use the basics happy, mad, sad or more complex like irritated, guilty, and proud). Emotional IQ is not only their ability to accurately define a feeling and use it appropriately but differentiate between similar feelings, recognize feelings in others, and respond accordingly.

I measure this very unscientifically, but practically, in sessions With younger kids I start by asking them “Are you a good guesser?”…they always say yes…I then ask them to match feeling words to feeling faces. We then use I feel sentences to identify when we experience each one of the feelings. Here is another tool that talks more about teaching emotional vocabulary to younger children.

With older kids, I hand them a feelings faces chart and we go back and forth identifying what makes us feel different feelings.

See past posts on feeling charts/faces HERE and HERE and HERE

If you were doing this with an older child or someone with high emotional IQ/vocab then you could use one of these resources: feelings wheel

Alphabetized-Emotional-Vocabulary-List1

FeelingsList

Don’t forget to share any tools you use, as I LOVE to hear new ideas!

What did you think?

